Really, Mr. O’Malley?

This is not the post I was thinking about for today.  Then I got the mail.  Oh yes, another sales letter from John R. O’Malley from Mutual of Omaha trying to sell whole life insurance to my late husband.  If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you may recall Mr. O’Malley, Director of Marketing Services and Licensed Agent of the Mutual of Omaha Company from my previous post, “An Open Letter To John R. O’Malley.”

You may recall that I think buying whole life insurance is unwise.  This is because whole life insurance is essentially a low-yield savings account.  Better to have a savings account.  And investments.  True, your beneficiaries can’t be taxed on the income from a life insurance policy, and it’s separate from your estate, but there’s a better payout from term life if you can get it, and just saving money and investing it in the long run (in my opinion) is a better option than whole life.  But this isn’t a post about why I won’t buy whole life insurance.

No, this is about the continued harassment I’m receiving from Mutual of Omaha.  Yes, at this point I consider it harassment.  Let me refresh your memory. Mutual of Omaha is the same company that paid out Don’s disability insurance claim, and sent the final payment with a condolence letter.  Because he died.  Oh, and it’s the same company that paid out (finally – it took months) on Don’s group life insurance (through his employer) after he died. So I’m fairly certain that Mutual of Omaha was aware that Don had died.  I mean, that’s usually a prerequisite for paying out on life insurance.

Now, I followed up on my last post about this, because I spoke to Brandy at Mutual of Omaha who was very nice and understanding and agreed that this wasn’t a good way to do business.  She seemed to think that they ought to change some things. I agree.

Today, I started out as I always do.  I called the 800 number on the letter.  The drone, pardon me, the person on the other end of the phone who was incapable of deviating from her script, refused to transfer me to a supervisor.  She told me that there weren’t any available.  She told me flat-out that there was no way that John R. O’Malley would take my call or return my call – he doesn’t do that.  Right.  I’m aware.  He just attaches his robo-signature to the letters so that I’ll think that he wrote them and that he’s personally involved.  That he cares.  Right.

So then.  Well, then I just decided to do a little digging on my own.  I discovered that Daniel P. Neary is the CEO of Mutual of Omaha, and I was eventually able to discover the phone number to the corporate offices in Omaha, NE.  Not the 800 number, you understand – the actual corporate phone number.  I actually spoke to an operator who asked me where she could direct my call.  “Mr. Neary’s office, please.”  She asked me my name and what my call was regarding.  “I’d like Mutual of Omaha to stop harassing me.”  The next person I spoke to was Mr. Neary’s assistant.

Mr. Neary’s assistant was very nice and understanding.  She did not read from a script.  She listened.  To be fair, so did Brandy.  She said that a Director would get back to me.

We’ll see what happens.  I thought that these letters would stop.  I really did.  It doesn’t tear me up as much anymore, but it does still tear me up a bit.

Here’s the thing, though.  if this is happening to me, it’s happening to other people.  And most people aren’t as tenacious as I am.  I mean, I once took the morning off from school to go down to the city hall to get a court order to vote.  I’m seriously tenacious.

So I’m thinking that there are a lot of people who just get these letters and get torn open every time they get them.  And they might not know how to make it stop.  I mean, I don’t know how to make it stop, and I just spoke to the CEO’s assistant.

So, Mutual of Omaha, I’m calling you out.  Again.  Is this how you want to do business?  Do you want to be known as a bully?

That’s it.  That’s my mite.  It’s all I’ve got.

2 thoughts on “Really, Mr. O’Malley?

  1. Madelyn, have u put anything on Twitter about Mutual of Omaha? Negative tweets often get immediate attention from corporate types.

    Like

What do you have to say?

