The Twelve Blogs of Christmas: Third Day – French Horns

I love Christmas carols. To be fair, I love music. All kinds of music. And the nice thing about seasonal music is that, unlike, say, Unchained Melody or Pachelbel’s Canon in D, it tends not to be played ad nauseum year-round. Some of it may be played ad nauseum in season, but eventually, the season changes, and we may end up missing the tunes, so good music doesn’t get ruined from over-playing.

I especially love brass. Christmas and brass, they go together for me. Not just because I played french horn when I was younger. I probably played french horn because I liked brass so much. That and I wanted to be a hunt master, but that’s another blog.

Anyway, I love the sound of brass playing “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and many other Christmas tunes. And then there are the bells. There ought to be bells for Christmas. Especially for Carol of the Bells. And I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.

A friend recently asked on Facebook what people’s favorite Christmas carols, hymns, and songs are and why. I think about this every year – more now that I’ve been involved in planning worship. When I was young, it was only about the music. The music, in itself, is a wonderful thing, don’t get me wrong. But now I’m also interested in the message and the theology.

So my favorite Christmas carols now have a lot to do with the combination of theology, overall message, and music. For example, in I Heard The Bells on Christmas Day, the third and fourth verses sing of despair about the state of the world and how humanity is not living into the Kingdom of God, and then how God is not dead and that right will indeed prevail, so we should keep faith (and keep working).

The third verse of O, Holy Night is truly radical:

 

Truly He taught us to love one another
His law is love and His gospel is peace
Chains shall He break for the slave is our brother
And in His name all oppression shall cease
Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise we,
Let all within us praise His holy name
Coventry Carol is another of my favorites. It’s about the slaughter of the innocents. Not the typical cheery Christmas message, but part of the whole Christmastide story. As a bereaved parent, this carol speaks to me. In the midst of the cheer, there are always those in need of comfort.
So much music. So many reasons to love so much of it.
I enjoy the secular seasonal music, too. The cynical songs, the happy songs, the sappy songs, (well, some of the sappy songs), the funny songs. Especially the funny songs. I mean, I’m all for the religious aspect of things, but God definitely has a sense of humor, and we ought to enjoy Christmas.
So what’s your favorite Christmas song and why? Feel free to comment on Advent and Epiphany music, as well. I’d love to hear your comments.
That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

 

3 thoughts on “The Twelve Blogs of Christmas: Third Day – French Horns

  1. Pingback: The Twelve Blogs of Christmas: Fourth Day – Calling | The Widow's Mite-y Blog

  2. Pingback: The Twelve Blogs of Christmas: Fifth Day – Gold Things | The Widow's Mite-y Blog

  3. Pingback: Best French Christmas Songs | My Frenglish Thoughts

What do you have to say?

