The Twelve Blogs of Christmas: Sixth Day – Goose Eggs

I love eggs. I’ve been collecting eggs since I was about, I don’t know, maybe nine or ten.  It started because my best friend’s brother (BFB) had this owl collection. I’m not sure that he even wanted the owl collection – I don’t think he even started it. But he had this owl collection. And then one day Best Friend (BF) decided she was going to collect something, and she started collecting mushrooms, and suddenly she had this great mushroom collection. So I felt left out, and I wanted to collect something. And I noticed that there were all these great decorated eggs, and I decided to start collecting eggs.

So here’s the thing about eggs. Well, here’s a thing about eggs, anyway. They’re all about birth. Big surprise, I know. Eggs are the beginning, and they’re full of possibilities. And they’re beautiful.

Eggs are also engineering marvels. They’re remarkably protective and very strong. It’s the shape. Or so I’m told. You’d have to ask my 20-year-old daughter or one of my sons-in-law about the engineering math.

You can put a hole in the top and bottom of an egg and blow out the insides (I have done this), and then you can cook the eggs and decorate the empty shells. If you’re especially talented, you can make hinged doors and all sorts of fancy things. People sometimes make lacework out of the shells.

Of course, you don’t have to cut the shell to decorate it. The traditional psanky, the eggs that are decorated in The Ukraine and Poland, the artists use a stylus dipped in hot wax to paint on designs that will be protected from the consecutive layers of dye. Eventually, when the wax is melted away, all the bright colors are revealed in an intricate design.

And then there are the eggs made out of things that aren’t eggs at all. The marvelous enameled Faberge eggs, for example. Crystal eggs, stone eggs, wood eggs, eggs made out of just about anything you can imagine.

We associate eggs most with Easter and springtime, because of rebirth and resurrection, but I think Christmas is a good time to consider them, too. After all, Advent and then Christmas are times of possibilities. What does that egg shell hold?

A few years ago the kids gave me a set of five glass egg ornaments for the Christmas tree. I love them. They’re red with gold, and so lovely on the green tree. And so full of possibilities.

Now, sometimes, we use goose eggs to mean a zero. Nothing. In fact, in tennis, it’s thought that Love (zero) comes from ouef – egg – probably because a zero looks like an egg. But I think that’s not a good analogy.

I have all sorts of eggs in my collection, including some goose eggs. They’re much bigger than chicken eggs, but I think that just leaves room for more possibilities.

So as 2013 draws to a close, as we celebrate another Christmas and ponder all the possibilities of the Christ child, I wonder, what are you hatching?

That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

What do you have to say?

