The Superbowl. And Not.

One of the sacrifices I make every year is that I go to my covenant group meeting on the first Sunday of February instead of staying home to watch the Superbowl. I do that because part of the covenant is to attend regularly, and I feel that I should really do that. But I confess that I miss watching the Superbowl.  And I’m not even a football fan anymore. I made a conscious decision to change to baseball (seriously) about 13 or 14 years ago. But the Superbowl is just a lot of fun. And there are the commercials.

I mean, even if I have no particular affinity for either of the teams playing, it’s often a good game (ok, this year was not so much a good game as a good…thrashing), and the commercials are so much fun. But not everyone likes the Superbowl. Some people don’t like football no matter what. That’s fine. There are about 300 other channels of stuff to watch on t.v., not to mention movies, games, books (those are things with covers and many pages in between that you read), and the internet, and just hanging out with friends, or figuring out how you would pull off the jewel heist of the century just for kicks.

Most U.S. Americans watch the Superbowl. But not everyone does. So if you don’t watch it, you’ll be left out of that particular water-cooler conversation on the following Monday. But then, I used to watch all the award shows on t.v. when I was young, and then they started boring me, so I stopped. Plenty of people watch them, but I don’t, so I get left out of those conversations. I get included in plenty others.

Here’s what I don’t get. When did it become a thing to post self-righteous exclamations about how we are not interested in the Superbowl? Or [insert thing I refuse to watch and will now announce the the world here]?  Well, I suppose that this became a thing sometime after social media became a thing. But why? Why do we need to announce that we are above this? Does it make us feel better? Superior? Is that important?

I don’t care if you don’t care about the Superbowl. If you don’t want to watch it, then…don’t.

Do we need to feel superior to each other? What if we all started posting about all the things we don’t care about? I don’t think there’s enough space. “I won’t be watching Professional Wrestling today.” “I can’t tell you how much I don’t care about Montel Williams.”  “I refuse to watch Washington Week in Review.”  Um… ok.

The thing is, every time we announce how much we don’t care about whatever this thing is, we are also saying, in not very subtle terms, “and it’s foolish to care about it,” or “and I’m better than all those people who will be watching.”  There’s no need for that. Now, maybe we don’t mean to send that message, but that message is received. Perhaps we should pay more attention to what gets received. Just think how different the game would have been if Denver had been able to pay more attention to that. But I digress.

The distance of the internet makes it so much easier to be rude. We don’t get to see the expressions on the faces of people when we put things out there. Maybe we could just…filter ourselves a little bit.

Well, that’s it for football for this year. Spring training is coming, and then opening day! And I will be watching. If you don’t like baseball – you can watch something else.

That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

What do you have to say?

