Retreat

One nice thing about this ministry thing is that I get to have really great colleagues. I have these colleagues who tend to be geeky about the same things I’m geeky about. Like new Bible translations, and the nuances of atonement theologies, and how the Spirit works in worship.  They’re also essential to my well-being in ministry.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I suspect that this might be true for others, as well. I know I couldn’t do this without the support of my colleagues.

I just got back from a retreat with ministers from my district. About 40 of us — new ministers, seasoned ministers, retired ministers, intern ministers. People in all stages of our ministries, reconnecting and sharing with one-another.

I’ve been working through some difficult discernment lately, and there is uncertainty in my future. My colleagues have been through this. They listen. They advise when appropriate. They hug. The hugs are good.

Plus, it’s just good to have a place where I can let my hair down. Where I don’t have to worry about being misinterpreted or saying something that’s far too irreverent. It’s great to have that space to just be me for a while

I think we all need that, regardless of what we do the rest of the time. We all need a safe space. We need people whom we can bounce our thoughts off of. We need people we can drive to the beach with, and stand there on a crazy windy and rainy day just to appreciate the awesome power of God in nature.

All through seminary our professors kept drilling it into us — Self Care! It’s important. So I’m doing the self care. I went on the retreat. The experienced ministers kept saying Self Care! I’m listening. I’m planning to keep it a priority.

Giving thanks today for my colleagues in ministry. That’s how I’ll be able to keep doing this.

That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

What do you have to say?

