Mani-Pedis. And Patience.

I LOVE to get manicures and pedicures. I especially love pedicures, which I get less often, because I almost never get them during the fall and winter, when people aren’t going to see my feet. If you’ve never had a manicure or pedicure, well, I’m sorry. There are few things that can make a person feel pampered and special as easily as this.

You see, it’s not just about the nail polish. I’ve been putting on nail polish since junior high school, I’m sure. No, with a manicure and pedicure, there is great care taken with the hands and feet. Much grooming, and a massage. The massage is the best part.

A basic manicure or pedicure takes about a half hour. There are special manicures and pedicures – spa mani-pedis, for example. This usually involves getting your hands and/or feet dipped in hot paraffin. it’s rather wonderful. But even a basic mani-pedi is pretty wonderful.

Now, it’s not necessary to get nail polish with a mani-pedi, but most women do get nail polish. Men often don’t, but women usually do. We tell ourselves that it’s why we’re doing it – the finished product.

Years ago, when Twenty-one-year-old was a toddler, I used to get a manicure in a large department store. She’d come with me, and after my nails were done, the manicurist would let her sit up in the chair, and she’d paint my daughter’s nails. It wasn’t a whole manicure – just the nail polish, but my daughter loved it. Don and I loved it, too, because then she’d hold her hands up in front of her and not touch anything, afraid to ruin her nails. We could walk through the store and know that she wouldn’t grab things. By the time she was about four or five, she had discovered the joys of the whole manicure. She started pretty early. And she knew to keep her nails out of harm’s way for a bit.

And that’s another thing about mani-pedis. Once the nail polish is applied, you have to let it set. You really do. And that requires patience. And patience is not my best thing.

So getting a mani-pedi isn’t something you can just run out and do when you have exactly 30 minutes to spare in between other busy things that you’re doing all day long. You have to just sit there afterwards. For a bit. And you can’t go digging in your purse for your keys/credit card/phone/cash/tissues.  It requires slowing down a bit.

Sometimes I think that slowing down bit might be the most important part of the mani-pedi.  I love the part where someone is lovingly caring for my hands and feet. I’ve talked about this before. Well, I’ve certainly preached about it before, anyway. But the part where I have to just sit – that’s a good exercise for me. It’s hard. I am really bad at…sitting. I never want to sit for the ten minutes after giving blood. But some things just require the wait.

So I’ve learned that I have to do this. If I don’t want to ruin the nail polish. Maybe I’ll be able to transfer this skill eventually. I live in hope. With well-manicured nails.

That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

What do you have to say?

