Connections

The 2014 Unitarian Universalist Association General Assembly in Providence, RI has ended. This was, for me, the best GA ever (of the seven I’ve attended). It seems to have been good for a lot of folks.
For me, this GA was all about connections – and reconnections. This was my second year at ministry days. Last year I knew a few people – mostly from my own chapter. This year, I found I was looking forward to reconnecting with ministers I hadn’t seen in the last year.
Most of the GA’s I’ve attended have been as a layperson and therefore have involved using vacation time from my job. For the last several years I’ve been attending nearly every year, and it find that I also look forward to reconnecting with other religious professionals as well as the laity who attend year after year.
Don’t get me wrong – I get plenty out of the workshops (although there have been years when I’ve barely gone to any), but this year especially, it’s been about connections. The theme of GA this year was Love Reaches Out, which, for me, is all about connection. The worship services were about connection, too.
I felt connected to God and to the assembled congregation as I listened to the stories, sang the hymns, and watched all that was going on. As I prepare to return home, these connections linger.
I know I won’t see some of these people again until next year. It’s possible that I won’t see some of these people ever again. We never really know what’s coming next, do we? But I am, for now, sustained by the hugs and smiles, the prayers and good wishes, the awesome power of being in community.
As we return home, I will keep this community in my prayers. I’ve made some new connections, too, and that only makes the whole community stronger. At the opening ceremonies, we sang Leaning On The Everlasting Arms – and I wept. At the closing ceremonies, we sang, in Spanish, Nearer My God To Thee, and I wept again. I am so connected. These are my people, and I love them. And there is still more room in the circle.
That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

2 thoughts on “Connections

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks! eedaddffbebd

    Like

What do you have to say?

