Dancing With A New Partner

I love to dance. I LOVE to dance. Don and I used to go dancing whenever we could. We’d taken ballroom dancing lessons when we were dating and early in our marriage, and we kept dancing all through our married life. I had more experience than Don did. I’ve danced with more technically proficient partners – but Don and I got to know each other well over the course of 21 years.

Certainly, when we went to dances, there were times when we’d switch partners for dances here and there. In fact, if you go to the kind of dance that has dance cards, you really aren’t supposed to dance with your own partner more than once or twice in the evening. But in general, Don and I danced together. And we knew how we danced together.

Dancing is all give-and-take, but there’s still a leader and a follower. When we first began, even though Don was leading, sometimes I had to give some hints. I would follow whatever he asked me to do – and eventually he figured out the signs that he was giving me, and we learned to dance together.

Today, I went dancing with New Boyfriend (NBF).  We had a great time. OK, I guess I can really only speak for myself – but I had a great time. This was the first time we went dancing together.

Now, NBF and I don’t know our way around each other on the dance floor the way Don and I did. But there are rules in dancing. I mean, that’s why it’s possible to change partners and still dance. So we both know some dances, and there was a short lesson before the dance, and we did all right. Today’s dance was a waltz. I love waltzing. Sure – we had a misstep here and there. But that’s to be expected dancing with a new partner for the fist time. We also danced a tango (haven’t done that in maybe 20 years!) a polka (even longer!) and a swing dance.

Don and I used to swing dance and waltz a lot. NBF and I did pretty well. We did some different moves from what Don and I did – some new things, and some things that were familiar, too. It takes a little getting used to – but it was fun. It was great to be out there again.

In ballroom dancing, the dancers move around the dance floor. There’s a flow. You dance with your partner, but you’re also moving among all the other people on the floor – everyone moving counter-clockwise.

Life is like this. We learn to dance with someone – but even as we’re learning to be with one partner, we’re moving in the world among all the people around us. And then, things happen, circumstances change, and partners change. We have to learn things all over again. But it can be so much fun.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been out dancing. I’ve missed it. I’m so glad NBF likes to dance. I’m so glad we did this today.

That’s all I’ve got. That’s my mite.

What do you have to say?

